Wolf Kahn again…

'Te Uku' 2007 oil on canvas
'Te Uku' 2007 oil on canvas

After last year’s exhibition, someone mentioned that I should look at some of Wolf Kahn’s art work as mine reminded them of his. I’ve just done this and a little shocked. Back in 2007,  I used Wolf Kahn’s work for an exercise called ‘Conversation with an Artist’ – we had to paint one of our own painting’s but as if we had our chosen artist talking to us as we did so. My effort was this one called ‘Te Uku’.

I haven’t looked at any of Wolf Kahn’s work since but take a look at these two paintings below – I guess I have to say that he is definitely an influence on my work! Yet I would swear I never gave him a thought when planning and completing this painting a year a year after that exercise! I will buy a Wolf Kahn book – he has a couple – and read some more, look some more and see where that leads me. All good stuff.

In Massachusetts by Wolf Kahn
In Massachusetts by Wolf Kahn
'Hikuai' 2008 by Jo Dalgety Oil on linen 600x760mm
'Hikuai' 2008 Oil on linen 600x760mm

Leave a comment