Wolf Kahn Pastels

Wolf Kahn Pastels Today I headed to Borders with my 30% discount voucher and bought this book, Wolf Kahn Pastels. I need to read something about this artist whom I first saw on an artist’s calendar years ago and whose paintings I love for their colour. Without reading anything of him, why he paints and what he paints I seem to have been influenced by him somehow.

Deep Purple Barn by Wolf Kahn
Deep Purple Barn by Wolf Kahn

I had to choose between ‘Rita Angus’ and ‘Seen this Century’ and also a Mark Rothko book that looked delicious, but their turn will come.

Friesach, oil on canvas 2007
Friesach, oil on canvas 2007

Opened the Wolf Kahn book and on page 9 there is a picture called ‘Barn near Golf Club’ which reminded me of the painting I did called Friesach.This was part of an exercise in ‘a conversation with a chosen artist’ – and I had chosen Wolf Kahn because I loved his Deep Purple Barn. It will be interesting.

I found this article on Wolf Kahn, Portrait of the Artist’s Market, which makes good reading. I do note already that we both like using purple, colour and lines of trees.

One thought on “Wolf Kahn Pastels

Leave a comment